The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

大新銀行集團有限公司 DahSingBankingGroupLimited

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
(The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited)
(Stock Code: 2356)

RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited (the "Company") announces the resignation of Mr. Dennis Yat-Wang Yau as a non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 20 April 2007.

Mr. Yau resigned from the Board of the Company due to his personal reasons and confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that he is not aware of any matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board expresses its appreciation of Mr. Yau's valuable contributions to the Board and the Company during his tenure of service with the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau. The independent non-executive Directors are Messrs. John William Simpson, David Richard Hinde, Robert Tsai-To Sze and Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung. The non-executive Director is Mr. Keisuke Tahara.

By Order of the Board
H L Soo
Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 20 April 2007